Heyyyyyy everyone!

I’m glad tomorrow is already midweek! I’m already looking forward to the extended holiday weekend! : )

I slept pretty horribly last night due to the people I live with slamming doors, getting up to pee, horrible dreams, and just not being able to sleep in general…….ughhh…..so I woke up pretty zombie like…….and headed off to the gym…..

Tuesdays and Thursdays are non-spin days typically, because spin class isn’t offered at the crack of dawn unfortunately on these days….so on these mornings I tend to do my cardio on an elliptical type of machine……and one of my favorite workouts to do on these days on this particular machine is a ladder workout…..

When I was able to run I did this workout often…..10 -15 minutes warmup……6 minutes all out…..5 minutes recovery (recovery pace does not mean shuffle, it should be a point where you are recovering, yet still are moving at a decent pace)…..then 5 minutes all out….4 recovery….4 all out…..3 recovery…..3 all out….2 recovery….2 all out….1 recovery….1 all out……and then a good, solid warmdown…….this would add up to be about an hour + workout total…..

Yes, it’s 100% effort on these “all out intervals”…but pace is important, especially with the longer minutes in the beginning…….

Now, although I can’t run anymore, I have modified this workout to the elliptical-like machine I use……I set the incline to the highest level for the entire workout….for resistance – my warmup is usually between a level 10 – 13 out of 20 – and then the workout begins……6 minutes all out at level 20 resistance, 5 minutes back to warmup resistance, 5 minutes at level 19, 4 minutes at warmup resistance, 4 minutes at level 18, 3 minutes at warmup resistance, 3 minutes at level 17, 2 minutes at warmup resistance, and the last all out intervals of 2 and 1 minutes are back at level 20 resistance…..all followed by a solid amount of recovery – back at warmup resistance/pace……

I’m always a sweaty beast after this workout and it definitely gets the lungs burning! It’s a creative way to challenge yourself…….

Two non-cardio exercises that I am a big fan of as well, and that don’t require any machines, are planks and arm dips using a chair…..I highly recommended – you can do these anywhere!

So after my workout this morning, I got ready, got to work, and enjoyed breakfast:

IMG_2097.JPG

A small, very overripe (but as a result verrryyyy good!) nectarine…..one thin slice of grain bread with a tad amount of PB, and a surprise! – apparently my mom didn’t know she left this in my bag of goodies yesterday – and it was a nice surprise to find it! – a small, smushed, but delish piece of homemade banana/flax/blueberry bread! Yummy! : )

The workday went by at a decent clip…..

For lunch I had Stonyfield’s Organic Oikos Blueberry Greek yogurt with a crushed Kashi Trail Mix bar:

IMG_2098.JPG

IMG_2099.JPGY

I LOVED IT!!!

Seeing that I had another variety of Stonyfield blueberry yogurt for lunch yesterday, I figured I’d review and compare the two!

Yesterday I had Stonyfield’s organic, low-fat, blueberry yogurt – the following is the nutritional information:

Serving Size 1 Container
Amount Per Serving
Calories 130 Calories from Fat 15
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 1.5g 2%
    Sat Fat 1g 5%
    Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 5mg 2%
Sodium 110mg 5%
Potassium 330mg 9%
Total Carbohydrate 22g 7%
   Dietary Fiber < 1g 4%
   Sugars 21g
Protein 6g 12%
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 25% Iron 0%
Thiamin 6% Riboflavin 20%
Vitamin B6 4% Vitamin B12 10%
Pantothenic Acid 6% Phosphorus 20%
Magnesium 4%
Vitamin D 20%
*Percent Daily Values are based on
a 2,000 calorie diet.
OUR FAMILY RECIPE: CULTURED PASTEURIZED ORGANIC LOW FAT MILK, ORGANIC BLUEBERRIES, NATURALLY MILLED ORGANIC SUGAR, PECTIN, NATURAL FLAVOR, ORGANIC ELDERBERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE (FOR COLOR).CONTAINS OUR EXCLUSIVE BLEND OF SIX LIVE ACTIVE CULTURES INCLUDING L. ACIDOPHILUS, BIFIDUS, L. CASEI, AND L. RHAMNOSUS.

Today, like mentioned earlier, I had Stonyfield’s Oikos, organic, low-fat, blueberry yogurt:

Serving Size 1 Container
Amount Per Serving
Calories 120 Calories from Fat 0
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 0g 0%
    Sat Fat 0g 0%
    Trans Fat g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 70mg 3%
Total Carbohydrate 16g 5%
   Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
   Sugars 15g
Protein 13g 26%
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 15% Iron 0%
*Percent Daily Values are based on
a 2,000 calorie diet.
OUR FAMILY RECIPE: CULTURED PASTEURIZED ORGANIC NONFAT MILK, ORGANIC SUGAR, ORGANIC BLUEBERRIES, NATURAL FLAVOR, PECTIN, ORGANIC ELDERBERRY JUICE FROM CONCENTRATE (FOR COLOR). CONTAINS FIVE LIVE AND ACTIVE CULTURES INCLUDING L. ACIDOPHILUS, BIFIDUS, AND L. CASEI.





After having both – although I was fond of each – I definitely preferred the Oikos yogurt better. The texture of the Oikos is a lot thicker in comparison to the more runny texture of the regular, organic, low-fat yogurt. Also, I preferred the blueberry taste of the Oikos much more as well. I get a little frustrated thinking I didn’t start eating Greek yogurt sooner!!!
When you compare other factors – they are both similar in regards to size and calories (Oikos 5.3oz at 120 calories, 0 from fat VS. the regular 6oz. cup at 130 calories, 15 from fat).
The Oikos seems to lack the potassium, fiber, and a few other nutrients that the regular has, yet Oikos on the other hand has 6 less grams of sugar, and 7 more grams of protein…..
Calcium-wise, Oikos: 15% VS. Regular: 25% – not to mention 20% of your vitamin D daily value.
Bottom line: both are delish and have great nutritional value – so in the end I think it comes down to what texture one prefers……


In addition to my yogurt/bar combo……I also had a garden cucumber sliced with cilantro-jalepeno hummus and a small hunk of cheddar & habanero pepper cheese (this cheese makes my nose run, it’s so spicy!)

IMG_2100.JPG



I must say though….I was starvingggggggg by the time I got home, and I knew that dinner was going to take a little longer than expected (you’ll see why!), so I snacked on a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar…..
IMG_2101.JPG

Ok, we all know my love and addiction to PB, and although I did indeed enjoy this bar…..a lot……I do have to say it has been my least favorite out of all the varieties that I have tried…..which include in order of preference: Coconut Creme Pie, Cherry Pie, Gingersnap, Banana Bread, and Pecan Pie……
Honestly, I would of thought PB and Banana Bread would be #1 and #2 hands down, but CCP was a surprising shocker to the taste buds! Again, I have to just say again – I do LOVEEEEE all the flavors that I’ve tried so far…. and am looking forward to my next new reviews…. anyone recommend any specific flavor(s) that I should go after next??!?!

Anyways….so after eating my PB Larabar in a heavenly state, I prepared to make tofu for the first time!
Thanks for the pointers Whit! I definitely got some good inspiration for a yummy recipe!
I used Nasoya extra firm tofu…….

I didn’t know what to expect, so when I removed the big block of white, firm, watery tofu – it was quite interesting to say the least!
I “patted it down” and cut it up into cubes…..and then came the fun flavoring – I ended up using a combo of soy sauce, a little organic EVOO, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and some sesame seeds…..

IMG_2102.JPG

And into the oven they went for 30 minutes at 400 degrees (flipping them over halfway)…….and ta da!
IMG_2103.JPG


IMG_2104.JPG

Mmmmm! I might be going a tad far by saying tofu mayyy just be one of my new favorite things…..but it came out DELICIOUSSSSSSSSSS!
I’m looking forward to leftovers already!   
I added some carrot and a glob of PB for it on the side as well……

DINNER rocked tonight! : )

Ahhh well, quite the lengthy post….so I’ll call it a night and enjoy the rest of these babies for dessert:
Freshly frozen cherries – who knew these are sooooooo amazing frozen??!?!

IMG_2105.JPG


Alrighty, later!
– Ania


