Good morning all! Happy Two-Days-Until-Friday Day!

I got a great workout this A.M., but sadly, it was all by my lonesome. Basically, Allie has the worst luck in the world and was in a MINOR car accident on Monday. IRONICALLY, he had no injuries whatsoever from the accident itself – he just had bruising and burns from the freakin’ air bag. Talk about bad luck. But he does have good luck considering car accidents can be so much worse.

How can I talk about this so lightly? Well, if you know my uncle you’d be able to also. This is how I found out that it happened..

*Casey texting Uncle Allie while at Work*

Casey: Hey what’s up the gym called, you left your soul in the weight room.”

Allie: Haha. Just got in car accident.

Casey: WHAT?!?!

Aliie: Yeah lol I’m ok. Car is very messed up police coming now.

Casey: ………

In other news, here is how Kate and Carly fell asleep last night….

kitts 004

Spooning is so under-appreciated.

So is breakfast…

kitts 005

Scrambled egg whites with a sprinkling of reduced-fat cheddar cheese, a Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Blueberry Waffle, and a yummy fruit + syrup concoction I made by melting a few blueberries, one sliced strawberry, and a a little maple syrup in the microwave for about 40 seconds.

kitts 006

Soo gooey and yum. I’ll be doing this more often instead of using plain old syrup. Healthier too, which is always a plus 😉 .

 

I wanted to quickly touch on something from the Healthy Living Summit that really affected me. There were two representatives for Body + Soul magazine there that spoke about the products we use and how they affect us. Now, I’m not a huge make-up or cosmetic person in fact, on a good day I’ll wear eyeliner and some lip-gloss. That’s just the way I always have been…and it doesn’t help having a mother who knows absolutely nothing about make-up whatsoever. Seriously, the woman owns about 15 tubes of concealer, all purchased at CVS, Duane Reade, or Rite Aid. 

However, I DO constantly wash my hair (and I’m hoping you do too) and never really thought about the consequences. But when you look at the ingredient list for some of these products, it’s just as scary as looking at the ingredients in Fiber One bars or Easy Mac. Or as scary as the thought of Heidi and Spencer Pratt considering procreating. *Shudder.*

So here are my small changes so far. I switched my typical shampoo…

aug24 002

For Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Shampoo.

aug24 003

I also switched my conditioner…. (which I use POUNDS of)…..

 aug24 004

For Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Conditioner.

 aug24 005  

Want to know all the benefits to making this switch?

Let’s compare prices…

Treseme Curl Moisturizing Shampoo: aprox. $5.19

Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Shampoo: $2.49

Pantene Pro-V Nature Fusion Conditioner: aprox. $5.00

Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Conditioner: $2.49

So both TJ’s shampoo and conditioner are HALF the price of typical “big-name” brands. As a college student on a budget (one that allows for numerous visits to various organic stores), that wins me over automatically. And honestly, I think my new hair products work better. Maybe it’s just the fact that I switched shampoos, or the fact that I enjoy knowing I’m covered, when it comes to the still-uncertain media-hype about carcinogens and whatnot.  But my hair looks and feels pretty awesome.

Now I need YOUR help. I’ve switched over to organic shampoo and conditioner, but I still use mainstream facial cleanser and moisturizer. Any suggestions on natural products that work just as well, or better?

I’m out (and late, once again).

Case

