Since Mark is away at camp, and I miss him on levels bordering ridiculous, I am going to go all out and do two posts in one day in order to keep myself from sobbing as if Mark were drafted into the North Korean Army and will never return again. This post however, will not be featuring the dinner I had tonight, because I don’t wish to bore you all.
It will be centered around the lovely meal the aforementioned Korean solider prepare for my mother and I on Thursday night.

Since Mark is away at camp, and I miss him on levels bordering ridiculous, I am going to go all out and do two posts in one day in order to keep myself from sobbing as if Mark were drafted into the North Korean Army and will never return again. This post however, will not be featuring the dinner I had tonight, because I don’t wish to bore you all.

It will be centered around the lovely meal the aforementioned Korean solider prepared for my mother and I on Thursday night. When we arrived my Lil’ Rachel Ray was busy in the kitchen…wearing his Thursday finest.

july2 001

I told him not to worry, that I really hadn’t put too much thought or effort into my evening’s attire either. Then I shamelessly had my mother take glamour shots of me to prove this fact to all the readers out there.

july2 015Anyone else notice how I’m rockin the Kate Gosselin mullet bangs?

So Mark and I were bums, but we were bums together.

A romantic photo of the happy demented couple…

july2 016

Mark is going to kill me. Not because he’s showing some serious skin in this picture, but because he’s showing some serious kitchen mess disaster in the background, and god forbid anyone ever saw his kitchen like that! WWRD? (What would Rachel do?)

Dinner was FINALLY ready, (it was ONLY 9pm and I was beginning to take out spices to marinate Patrick in). First up, Baked Potato Soup!

july2 003

Mark said this wasn’t too difficult, the only hard part was that you’re supposed to bake the potatoes first, then peel them. Well, needless to say, Mark burnt his hands quite a few times doing this, and although I wasn’t present – I’m sure there was plenty of profanity going around to rival that of an episode of the Sopranos.

Anyway, this soup was absolutely delicious!

As Mark prepared the second course…

july2 006

My mom was no help at all checked out this really great blog…

july2 007

Must have been a really funny writer. Finally, we sat down (again) for the second course…

july2 013

Chicken Orzo Salad a la Rachel Ray (whom I suspect Mark is leaving me for).

This recipe calls for…

  • * 3/4 cup orzo pasta
  • * Salt and pepper
  • * 6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • * 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • * 1 pound chicken cutlets
  • * One 10-ounce bag baby spinach
  • * 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • * 1 cup pitted kalamata olives
  • * 3/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted
  • * 3 ounces parmesan cheese, shaved

Honestly, this is probably the best salad I’ve ever had. And not just because I’m slightly biased and may or may not be having an affair with the chef (no, not Rachel Ray). The toasted almonds really made it. You have to try!!

As for dessert, we heated up some Dark Chocolate Souffle my mom had prepared a few nights earlier, and served it alongside some frozen yogurt.

july2 020

Soooo gooooeeyyy…

july2 022

Even though I ate my weight in salad, I had to have some.

It was such a wonderful night, I knew I needed to do something…

july2 017

I posted my first Operation Beautiful note!

……………………..

On Mark’s mirror.

Hehe. All kidding aside, I DID in fact post a O.B. note, which I will include in tomorrow’s post! Goodnight all!

Miss you Marky 😦

– Case

