Wooooo! First post. Sorry Ania, hope you’re not devastated about not being the first one – I just couldn’t wait. Most importantly, the boyfriend (aka Mark) created an extremely “blog-worthy” (aka BW) meal tonight. I suppose I helped a little. And by “helped” I mean that I was constantly lurking in the background, snapping random pictures, and basically being a creeper as Mark kept saying, “You better not be putting this on your website”. Sorry, Mark, but I am not intimidated. Without further ado…

The extremely intricate and gourmet appetizers!!

 

Appetizer Platter - Assorted High Fiber Crackers with Reduced Fat Cheddar Cheese

Appetizer Platter - Assorted High Fiber Crackers with Reduced Fat Cheddar Cheese

 

Mark enjoying. (This was one of those times where he threatened my existence if I "put it on the website".

Mark enjoying. (This was one of those times where he threatened my existence if I "put it on the website".

 

ME enjoying. I am not embarrassed (unlike someone) of my love for cheese and crackers.

ME enjoying. I am not embarrassed (unlike someone) of my love for cheese and crackers.

The appetizers were fine and wonderful but Mark still needed to go to the grocery store to pick up the broccoli we needed for dinner. He headed off to the store and with nothing else to keep me occupied (except Spencer and Hiedi Pratt’s extremely authentic wedding) I decided to take a pic of the prep work Mark did before he left me all alone.

 

Marinating the chicken breasts. (Mark's top-secret marinade)

Marinating the chicken breasts. (Mark's top-secret marinade)

Upon his arrival I inspected his purchases (I usually like to berate and abuse him for unnecessary purchases), I noticed he bought a nice huge container of Green Tea for himself – and nothing for yours truly. Psh, whatever, I enjoyed a nice glass of ice water with a splash of MARK’S Green Tea. I’m not bitter or anything. 

The preparation continued and all became quite tense…

Mark deeply involved in chopping the garlic.

Mark deeply involved in chopping the garlic.

I had to sneak a close-up...

I had to sneak a close-up...

If I didn’t say it yet, Mark was extremely annoyed frustrated PISSED OFF appreciative that I was documenting his every move. The finished product was EXCELLENT!

 

My lovely bowl - with added fresh red pepper - definitely jazzed it up a bit. =)

My lovely bowl - with added fresh red pepper - definitely jazzed it up a bit. =)

 

The aftermath - these bowls are quite GINORMOUS.

The aftermath - these bowls are quite GINORMOUS.

 

Mark's Bowl. (Complete with obligatory Green Tea beverage).

Mark's Bowl. (Complete with obligatory Green Tea beverage).

 

He finished it all like a good boy! I think I may call his mom...

He finished it all like a good boy! I think I may call his mom...

I would like to point out that after Mark finished his first bowl I asked him if he would like me to get him some more. He said “DONE.” with a hand-gesture that looked like an umpire calling a baseball player SAFE at home. This was quite an affirmative proclamation and I didn’t dare second guess him. Whew.

All in all, it was an excellent meal and I am very grateful for a boyfriend that can – AND ENJOYS – to cook. I also am very grateful that he has gradually adopted a few of my eating habits. A few years ago, he would have never touched broccoli, but now he eats it up like it’s going out of style. Thanks babe, YAW THE GWATE-ST 😉 (Said in my slightly over-the-top Brooklyn accent).

And of course, no night would be complete without…
IMG_1648

A tiny slice of apple pie (thanks to Mark’s generous relatives) and a small scoop of Peanut Butter Cup Slow-Churned Ice Cream (Mark did manage to pick up ONE good item I would enjoy. 🙂

IMG_1649

And some PB Ice Cream for Mark sans Apple Pie.

But not because he was depriving himself, but because “he didn’t want it”. 

Ania, you would have LOVED this ensemble – we MIGHT just HAVE to re-create it. I’m out to chill with my very concerned boyfriend (he is concerned about his life being posted all over the internet). GOODNIGHT!

– Case

